ESA Sevilla mentors Amalia, María and Cristina. On the right, Matt, UNE student

ESA Sevilla mentors Amalia, María and Cristina. On the right, Matt, UNE student (photo: Sarah Hoover)

One of the most exciting additions to ESA programs in 2015 are the new ESA Mentors. ESA Mentors are local university students that are sharing their culture and vision of their city with students on our programs across Europe.

What is an ESA Mentor? According to Wikipedia, «mentorship is a personal developmental relationship in which a more experienced or more knowledgeable person helps to guide a less experienced or less knowledgeable person». In our case, ESA Mentors are more knowledgeable about the local culture. That's why we think including them in our programs is a great way to help American students have an outstanding experience abroad.

ESA Mentors:

  • Support the goals of ESA
  • Invite ESA students to get involved in local activities
  • Organize and lead certain ESA activities
  • Propose activities outside of the planned ones
  • Communicate with students through social media platforms such as Facebook and Instagram

Meet the ESA mentors of our programs in Sevilla and Barcelona for this Spring 2015:

Sevilla ESA Mentors


María de las Heras Jiménez

My name is María de las Heras Jiménez and I am 21 years old. I was born in Sevilla. I have always loved languages and this is the reason why I decided to study a Double Major in Translation, Interpreting & Humanities. I speak English, French and a little German. I also love music and I finished a Degree on clarinet 3 years ago. Hobbies: rollerblading, photography, music, meeting friends, traveling, tennis, concerts, reading, going to the beach... Interests: archeology, history, sports, culture, movies, nature & environment...


Cristina Esquivel

I am 20 and I am a junior working towards a Bachelor's Degree in Translation and Interpreting at the UPO. I mainly study English and French, although I love languages in general. I am interested in journalism, politics, economics, and education systems. I enjoy taking part in debates concerning these matters, being highly critical of the current situation of Spain. Concerning my free time, I often go out for dinners or meriendas and take part in language exchanges many times a week. I like traveling, going to the cinema and watching movies and series in original version.

Captura de pantalla 2015-01-12 a las 12.19.02

Amalia Ordoñez

Hi! My name is Amalia. I am a Translation & Interpreting student here in Sevilla. I study English and German, and I would like to study a master’s degree in the US or Canada. Eventually, I would like to become an interpreter and work at the United Nations, though I’m aware that’s pretty difficult. My passion has always been sailing. I started sailing when I was 5 years old, and I soon liked competing. I won some championships and I was part of the Spanish national team, attending European and World Championships. Sailing allowed me to make lots of friends from all over the world and travel to many places. It was more than hobby for me, but due to an accident I got an injury and had to give up my dreams. However, I started working as a sailing instructor, so I never lost contact with this sport. I love reading and going to the cinema. My favorite book is The Catcher in the Rye, which I had to read in school, and I keep watching reruns of Friends and Gilmore Girls. I never get tired of doing so! Among my other hobbies, I have always been very keen on learning languages. When I was in high school I learned Italian for two years, then dropped it and picked up German, and in February I will restart learning French. As a kid, I was also in a painting workshop and I was in some drama clubs. I love being busy!

Barcelona ESA Mentors

Clàudia Sandé

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

My name is Clàudia and I am a senior Law student at UPF. My main areas of interest are criminal justice and political philosophy. I love traveling and meeting new people from all over the world; it helps me keep an open minded attitude towards things and I also learn a lot. My hobbies are singing, reading mystery novels and baking, and you could say that I am the kind of person who is game for anything.